Sarcomas are rare cancers that develop in the muscle, bone, nerves, cartilage, tendons, blood vessels and the fatty and fibrous tissues. They can affect almost any part of the body, on the inside or the outside. There are three main types of sarcoma: soft tissue sarcoma, bone sarcoma and gastrointestinal stromal tumours (GIST) and there are around 100 different sub-types of sarcoma.

The overall aims of the Sarcoma ECAG are to provide specialist advice and guidance to the East Midlands Cancer Alliance, Clinical Commissioning Groups and the Specialist Commissioning Group (SCG) on the standards of service for patients with sarcoma reflecting current best practice and opportunities for development.

The Sarcoma ECAG will aim to ensure that patients with sarcoma receive high quality equitable cancer care throughout the East Midlands Cancer Alliance regardless of geography or socio-economic factors and will, wherever possible, endeavour to improve the standard of care provided.

Mr Robert Ashford
Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon
Leicester Royal Infirmary, University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust

Future meeting dates:

6th of November 2018

Key documents
pdfAnnual Report 2016/17
Clinical guidelines

Useful Websites