Lung and Mesothelioma

Lung cancer is one of the most common and serious types of cancer. Around 44,500 people are diagnosed with the condition every year in the UK (NHS Choices). There are two main types of primary lung cancer. These are classified by the type of cells in which the cancer starts: (1) non-small-cell lung cancer is the most common type, accounting for more than 80% of cases and it can be either squamous cell carcinoma, adenocarcinoma or large-cell carcinoma. (2) small-cell lung cancer is a less common type that usually spreads faster than non-small-cell lung cancer.

Mesothelioma is a type of cancer that develops in the lining that covers the outer surface of some of the body’s organs. It’s usually linked to asbestos exposure. It mainly affects the lining of the lungs (pleural mesothelioma) although it can also affect the lining of the stomach (peritoneal mesothelioma), heart or testicles (NHS Choices).

The overall aims of the Lung and Mesothelioma ECAG is  to provide specialist advice and guidance to the East Midlands Cancer Alliance partners and stakeholders (i.e. Clinical Commissioning Groups, Specialised Commissioners and Acute Trust providers) on the quality and standards of service for patients with lung and mesothelioma cancer and their families and carers reflecting current best practice and opportunities for transformation and innovation.

The Lung and Mesothelioma ECAG aims to ensure that patients with lung and mesothelioma cancers receive high quality. equitable cancer care across the East Midlands Cancer Alliance geography; regardless of where they live within it.

Dr Jonathan Bennett
Consultant Respiratory Physician
University Hospitals of Leicester

Future meeting dates:

Friday 28th of September 2018

Key documents
pdfClinical guidelines