Gynaecological cancer refers to the five cancers that start in the female reproductive system: womb (uterine or endometrial), ovarian, cervical, vulval and vaginal. 

The Gynaecology ECAG aims to ensure that patients receive high quality, equitable cancer care throughout the East Midlands Cancer Alliance, regardless of geography or socio-economic factors, and will endeavour to improve the standards of care provided in the diagnosis, treatment and management of gynaecological cancers.

ECAG members will provide expert advice to the East Midlands Cancer Alliance, Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs), and the Specialist Commissioning Group (SCG) on the standards of service for cancer patients who require care, reflecting current best practice.

Current priorities for the Gynaecology ECAG include the:
  • development of a local dataset specific to gynaecological cancer;
  • development of a radical surgical service for ovarian cancer and exenterative surgery; and
  • implementation of holistic needs assessments in line with the national cancer strategy priority 'living with and beyond cancer'.

Mr Quentin Davies
Consultant Gynaecologist
University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust

Future meeting dates


Key documents
pdfBGCS endometrial guidelines
pdfBGCS Ovarian Guidelines
pdfClinical guidelines (in review - national BGCS guidelines to be adopted when finalised)